(German: Pommern, Polish: Pomorze, he), a historic region along the Baltic Sea in north-central Europe. At its greatest extent it stretched roughly from Stralsund, Germany, to the Vistula in Poland.

Pomerania was inhabited by Slavic tribes when it was conquered by Poland about 1000 A.D. A brief period of independence was followed by conquest by Poland early in the 12th century. In 1181 most of the region became a duchy of the Holy Roman Empire. A section in the east remained separate as Pomerelia.

The Peace of Westphalia (1648) divided Pomerania into two parts. Hither Pomerania (west of the Oder River) was granted to Sweden. Farther Pomerania (east of the Oder) went to Brandenburg, one of the states that formed the Kingdom of Prussia in 1701. Part of Hither Pomerania was ceded to Prussia in 1720, the rest in 1815. All of the region belonged to Prussia until after World War II, when the section west of the Oder became part of East Germany and the remainder was granted to Poland. In 1990 the section west of the Oder was incorporated into reunited Germany as part of the state of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania.