|
Lots More Information
10 False History Facts Everyone Knows
If you think Newton discovered gravity when an apple fell on his head or Napoleon was extremely short, you may need a history refresher. These 10 “facts” are really fiction. Read more »

Author's Note: 10 of History's Most Torrid Love Affairs

Passionate love affairs seem like they'd be quite exciting. But after writing about the folks above, it seems like intense passion is very often coupled with plenty of unhappiness. I guess it's true you can't have it all.

Sources

  • 1300 Flowers. "The Greatest Love Affairs in History." March 7, 2012. (Dec. 4, 2012) http://www.1300flowers.com.au/flowers/greatest-love-affairs-history/
  • Abelard and Heloise. "The Story." (Dec. 4, 2012) http://www.abelardandheloise.com/Story.html
  • Amo Life. "Top 20 Most Famous Love Stories in History and Literature." (Dec. 4, 2012) http://amolife.com/reviews/top-20-most-famous-love-stories-in-history-and-literature.html
  • BBC. "End of a love story." June 5, 2004. (Dec. 4, 2012) http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/265714.stm
  • Biography. "Richard Burton." (Dec. 8, 2012) http://www.biography.com/people/richard-burton-9232503
  • Boykin, Sam. "10 Great Love Affairs in History." Mental Floss. Feb. 14, 2009. (Dec. 4, 2012) http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/22664
  • Cahalan, Susannah. "'Furious love': The love letters of Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor." Jan. 22, 2012. (Dec. 4, 2012) http://www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/books/furious_love_the_love_letters_taylor_3RREnDd0ABuOMWMFVNDcGO
  • Classic Reader. "Elizabeth Barrett Browning." (Dec. 12, 2012) http://www.classicreader.com/author/162/about/
  • Encyclopedia of World Biography. "Mark Antony Biography." (Dec. 9, 2012) http://www.notablebiographies.com/Lo-Ma/Mark-Antony.html
  • Gannon, Louise. "'I didn't break up the Beatles. My small hand could not have broken these men up': The world according to Yoko Ono." The Daily Mail. Dec. 30, 2010. (Dec. 5, 2012) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/moslive/article-1341102/Johns-Lennon-widow-Yoko-Ono-I-didnt-break-Beatles.html
  • Iley, Chrissy. "Yoko Ono: 'John's affair wasn't hurtful to me. I needed a rest. I needed space." The Telegraph. March 27, 2012. (Dec. 5, 2012) http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/photography/9160041/Yoko-Ono-Johns-affair-wasnt-hurtful-to-me.-I-needed-a-rest.-I-needed-space.html
  • Montefiore, Simon Sebag. "An Affair to Remember." The New York Review of Books. (Dec. 5, 2012) http://www.nybooks.com/articles/archives/2005/feb/24/an-affair-to-remember/?pagination=false
  • NNDB. "Elizabeth Barrett Browning." (Dec. 8, 2012) http://www.nndb.com/people/036/000031940/
  • PBS. "People in Frida's World." (Dec. 10, 2012) http://www.pbs.org/weta/fridakahlo/life/people.html
  • PBS. "Robert Browning (1812-1889) Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1806-1861)." (Dec. 4, 2012) http://www.pbs.org/wnet/ihas/poet/browning.html
  • Royal BC Museum. "Edward VIII: The Future King (R. 1936)." (Dec. 8, 2012) http://royaltybc.com/1936/03/20/edward-viii-the-future-king-r-1936/
  • Royal Paper Dolls. "Anne Boleyn's Story." (Dec. 5, 2012) http://www.royalpaperdolls.com/ABStory.htm
  • Schneider, John. "Napoleon and Josephine." The Napoleon Series. (Dec. 7, 2012) http://www.napoleon-series.org/research/napoleon/c_napjos.html
  • The Independent. "Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo: Portraits of a very modern marriage." July 18, 2011. (Dec. 4, 2012) http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/art/features/diego-rivera-and-frida-kahlo-portraits-of-a-very-modern-marriage-2315354.html
  • The XO Directory. "Top Ten Great Love Affairs in History." Dec. 31, 2007. http://thexodirectory.com/2007/12/top-ten-great-love-affairs-in-history/
  • ThinkQuest. "Mark Antony." (Dec. 12, 2012) http://library.thinkquest.org/J0112722/Cleopatra/Affairs/markantony.htm
  • Turner, Robin. "Richard Burton and the wife he 'bought' for a million dollars." Wales Online. Oct. 15, 2010. (Dec. 8, 2012) http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/2010/10/15/burton-and-the-wife-he-bought-for-a-million-dollars-91466-27474181/
  • Tweedle, Sam. "For the Love of Yoko: A Reexamination and Appreciation of Yoko Ono." Confessions of a Pop Culture Addict. (Dec. 10, 2012)
|