Queen Anne's War, 1702–13, the American phase of the War of the Spanish Succession fought in Europe, 1701–14. The main conflict in America was between the French and British colonies. It resulted in Great Britain getting Acadia (Nova Scotia) from France and in French recognition of British claims to the Hudson Bay area and Newfoundland. It was the second of four wars in North America known collectively as the French and Indian Wars.

At the start of the war in America, British colonials in South Carolina unsuccessfully attacked St. Augustine, Florida, at that time controlled by France's ally Spain. The greatest concentration of fighting was in New England and Acadia. Many New England settlements were ravaged from time to time by Indians allied with the French. In 1703 Wells and Saco in Maine were attacked. The next year French and Indians from Canada descended on Deerfield, Massachusetts, killing about 50 inhabitants and taking more than 100 as captives. Later Haverhill, Massachusetts, was also attacked.

The English counterattacked against French possessions north of the British colonies. Campaigns against Acadia in 1704 and in 1707 met with failure. However, Port Royal, the capital of Acadia, was captured by British colonial forces in 1710 and later renamed Annapolis Royal.

To capture both Quebec and Montreal a massive attack by land and sea on French-held Canada was planned in 1711. Troops were sent from England to help. The effort was abandoned after accidents in the St. Lawrence River caused heavy losses of ships and men. The war ended with the settlement called the Peace of Utrecht.