Intolerable Acts, a name given by American colonists to five acts passed by the British Parliament in 1774. Four of the acts were designed to punish the colony of Massachusetts for the Boston Tea Party and to prevent further challenges to royal authority. American statesmen responded by calling the first Continental Congress.

  • The Boston Port Act ordered that port closed until payment was made for the destroyed tea.
  • The Massachusetts Government Act increased the powers of the British governor and forbade town meetings without his written approval.
  • The Administration of Justice Act provided that Massachusetts courts could be deprived of jurisdiction over British officials.
  • The Quartering Act authorized the housing of soldiers in public buildings.
  • The Quebec Act was not intended to punish the colonists. But Americans were angered because concessions were made to the Catholic church in Quebec, and because the province's borders were extended to include land claimed by other colonies.