French Equatorial Africa, the name of a former federation of French colonies in west-central Africa. The federation was established in 1910 with its capital at Brazzaville. Prior to that time, the region was known as French Congo. During 1958–60 four independent countries were created out of this territory: Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, and Gabon.