Continental Congress, originally an intercolonial conference called to propose measures to obtain redress from the British Parliament for its violations of colonial rights immediately before the American Revolution; later, it became the central government of the United States. The first Continental Congress met in Philadelphia, September-October, 1774; all of the colonies except Georgia sent delegates (56 in all).

The second Continental Congress became the central government of the rebelling colonies in 1775, It served until 1781, when it was replaced by the Congress under the Articles of Confederation. The delegation from each state had one vote.

The Continental Congress was the only branch of the national government, unlike the present Congress, which shares power with the executive and judicial branches of the federal government. Its powers, however, were much more limited than those of today's Congress.